Chaverim and Seniors

seniorsChaverim is the Federation’s weekly kosher luncheon and social program for seniors.  This program, which has been in operation for more than 25 years, provides seniors a social opportunity to socialize and enjoy programs that range from speakers and discussion groups on a wide range of topics  to musicians and dance troupes. For more information please contact us

In addition, the Holiday Outreach Program provides holiday baskets to seniors in the community at Rosh Hashanah, Chanukah and Passover. This visit provides an opportunity to connect with seniors who do not get out and participate as they did before.

For the recently retired the Federation offers Knosh and Knowledge a once a month gathering at a local coffee shop to socialize and hear from guest speakers on a wide range of topics.

CHAVERIM

Tuesday, December 12, 2017, 10 am – Chanukah

Tuesday, January 23, 2018, 10 am  – Tu B’Shevat

Tuesday, February 20, 2018, 10 am – Purim

Tuesday, March 20, 2018, 10 am – Passover

Tuesday, April 10, 2018, 10 am – Yom Ha’Atzmaut

Tuesday, May 15, 2018, 10 am – Shavuot

Tuesday, June 12, 2018, 10 am – Friends, Food, & Fun

Tuesday, July 17, 2018, 10 am – Tisha B’Av

Tuesday, August 14, 2018, 10 am  – Friends, Food, & Fun

Tuesday, September 4, 2018, 10 am – Rosh Hashanah

Tuesday, October 9, 2018, 10 am – Sukkot/Simchat Torah

Tuesday, November 6, 2018, 2018 – Kristallnacht

Tuesday, December 4, 2018, 10 am – Chanukah

 

KNOSH & KNOWLEDGE

Wednesday, January 31, 2018, 9:30 am at Schnucks.  Art as Therapy with Julia Lopez.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018,  9:30 a.m., at Kidzeum.  Kidzeum of Health and Science.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018,  9:30 a.m., at Scnucks.  Springfield Liturgical Arts Festival.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018, 9:30 a.m., at County Market.   Meals in 30 Minutes or Less:  County Market/Niemann Foods.

Wednesday, May 30, 2018, 9:30 am, at Schnucks.  The Story of Pease’s Chocolate at BUNN Gourmet.

Wednesday, June 27, 2018, 9:30 am, at Hoogland.  The Hoogland Gallery.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018, 9:30 am, at Historical Society.  Sangamon County Historical Society.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018, 9:30 am, at Schnucks.  Illinois Bicentennial.

Wednesday, September 26, 2018, 9:30 am, at Amish Museum.  Illinois Amish Museum.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018, 9:30 am, at Schnucks.  Cooking Locally in Springfield.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018, 9:30 am, at Governor’s Mansion.  The Newly Renovated Governor’s Mansion.

Wednesday, December 26, 2018, 9:30 am, at Caribou Coffee.  Just a Knosh with Friends.